Lent or fasting?

Matthew 6:16-18 declares,

“When you fast, do not look sombre as the hypocrites do, for they disfigure their faces to show men they are fasting. I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full. But when you fast, put oil on your head and wash your face, so that it will not be obvious to men that you are fasting, but only to your Father, who is unseen; and your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.”

Good morning beautiful friends and co-workers. A beautiful bit chilly day here but still warmth in the heart! I pray that you are doing well and feel the peace of the Lord in your heart and all for His glory, in Jesus Name, amen!

Last Monday when being in class, a discussion started about what each student “gives up” for lent. I was asked also, as they know that I serve the Lord. I told them that I do not “Lent” but just fast when I am guided to it. I get a little confused. I read the scripture in Matthew 6v16-18 again and again. I read clearly that we should not show to the world that we fast, it only for the Father to know. I am confused. I understand that there are few things in the Bible that we might comprehend them differently but a statement so clear, how could be modified?

I wish you a great day,

Be blessed and creative,

Dimitra

© ALL RIGHTS RESERVED – Any unauthorised broadcasting, public performance, copying or re-recording will constitute an infringement of copyright. 

About LovingMinistry

Loving life, Loving people but mostly Loving and Serving Jesus Christ!
This entry was posted in devotional, faith, hope, inspirational, Personal, trichotillomania, unconditional love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

