If you can…

Mark 9v22-24

“22.”And often he has thrown him both into the fire and into the water to destroy him. But if You can do anything, have compassion on us and help us.”

23. Jesus said to him, “If you can believe, all things [are] possible to him who believes.”

(9:23 δ ησος επεν ατ Τ Ε δνασαι πιστεσαι, πντα δυνατ τ πιστεοντι)

24. Immediately the father of the child cried out and said with tears, “Lord, I believe; help my unbelief!”

As I started my day in prayer and studying the word of God, I got troubled when I read Mark 9 and verse23. I usually read from the NIV which I consider a close translation to the Greek original text (speaking about the New Testament). However, this time, I felt in my spirit that the way it was written was not making much sense. I do not mean as a sentence or in grammar but concerning its context and the way that usually the Lord was speaking…something was wrong.

Nonetheless, I went to the source, the Greek text and finally, it made sense. The NIV translation was not close to the original and only the KJV and NKJV were exactly as it was written – so I give you the NKJV above including the original Greek for anyone who wants to compare.

Conclusion: keep searching and don’t settle for less. Look in the word but allow the Holy Spirit to guide you to the truth as it is.

Anyhow, what we really need to look at is the story of that father who was seeking healing for his child. He went to Jesus – as we go to him through our prayers – and he asked for compassion, help, His healing ability!

The response was so straightforward – (we read the same respond in so many other scriptures of the Bible): If you can believe, all things [are] possible to him who believes.

I do not comprehend when believers change the meaning of the things or they try to adjust the Word upon to what experiences they have in life. It is plainly told: If we can believe – (do we truly believe? Are we strong enough to believe and not doubt? Are we dedicated enough to keep believing no matter what? Are we positive, even if we seem crazy to the rest of the world?) – and not if someone else believes, not because God is willing (He is willing anyway!), but because we believe! Then, all things are possible – not by our own power, only through God’s power – but the start point is that we CAN believe! Amen!

Love,

Dimitra

 

© ALL RIGHTS RESERVED – Any unauthorised broadcasting, public performance, copying or re-recording will constitute an infringement of copyright

 

About LovingMinistry

Loving life, Loving people but mostly Loving and Serving Jesus Christ!
This entry was posted in devotional, faith, God's mercy, hope, inspirational, Jesus Christ, peace, Personal, trichotillomania, truth, unconditional love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If you can…

  1. I like this verse. This taught me that even though I need to have faith, God is still the one who will help me have faith and that things that God can do in my life is largely depended on how much I let Him do in my life. Thanks for expounding this verse. 😀

    • trusting2 says:

      Thank you so much for your insight about this verse. As you share with us, we learn from you and reminded how much we need to let Him in our life! Blessings and thanks again.

Leave a Reply

