A JOURNEY FULL OF RICHES…

 

 

 

 

 

The journey might be sometimes long and lonely but the skies are always bright! DS

 

This is an article that I wrote recently as a contribution to one of the charity organisations where I volunteer.

As my purpose is not to advertise the organisation, I replaced the organisation’s name with just the letter V (for volunteering!).

My aim is to motivate anyone who might read it, to offer time (not only money) to assist/help/encourage/be present for less privileged people. Each one of us has a voice, a voice that can make a difference in this world.

Imagine what we can do as a team!

So, here it goes:

{“V is a confidential emotional support service for anyone in the UK and Ireland. The service is available 24 hours a day for people who are experiencing feelings of distress or despair, including those which may lead to suicide.”

That’s how V present themselves, that’s what we firstly read at their website.

The statement is a true declaration! How do I know? I know as I am involved. The journey started more than two years ago. It started by posting a simple application. I was called. I was interviewed or I should say that I had a creative conversation accompanied with a nice warm cup of coffee.

All process took its course and the rest is history, a pleasant, educational and productive history.

When I arrived in Northern Ireland from some African country, I never thought that my perception about charity organizations, non governmental organizations and donors of any kind, could change. I worked and volunteer with many of the kind, including small, unknown ones and grand global donors. I have witnessed good intentions but mostly I have eyewitnessed red tapes, bureaucracy, mismanagement, pride, politics, diplomacy and unfulfilled tasks and aims.

My faith to goodness, ability, capability, loyalty and true aspiration had been restored as I commenced my training. V is not a briefcase organization. Volunteers of any walk of life dedicate their time – not necessarily their free time. They do make time to train, to fundraise, to meet, to support each other and the organization and to contribute in any possible way. Since the beginning, I met people who volunteer for decades. There is hierarchy but all are equal. Each person is unique and different but all are united. What they teach, they practice.

I learnt a lot, not only how to be a listening ear but mostly, I learnt more about myself, my weaknesses and my strengths. As I listen to the feelings and thoughts of callers, I become more empathetic than sympathetic.

I learnt that been a volunteer is not one way action. On the whole, we usually want to assist others or to fix it for them. Now, I know that I cannot fix anything; I just need to be present. The relationship between the Caller and the Volunteer is a vice versa liaison.

Volunteering is not only to assist others. It is, additionally, to gain self-awareness, develop our strong points and lessen our limitations. It is a wonderful journey to take, a journey full of riches!}

People say that they have no time to spare for volunteering work. Life is too busy, time is limited.

People say that volunteer work is not a work as it is not paid. Job or work is only what it is paid and on the whole, when people speak about professional life, they mean what it is paid.

Us, as Christians, we know better! The Lord told us and instructed us to spend time for others. Not only our friends and family, but our neighbour whoever that person is, the alien, the poor, the needy. It is not the money offering that counts. It is a necessity for things and bills to be paid. Yet, it is something “easier” to give.

But what about our time? Years ago, I had pledged except my finance 10% (the tenth) but also my 10% of time. My prayer was that even when things are busy, the Lord will make way for me to give Him 10% of my time during the day. He made that time for me. I do not know how but yes, the time was available!

Prayer applies to so many needs…including our time!

Giving is not only a material thing. It can be time, presence, a good word, volunteering within team work and not necessarily only with the local church.

Revelation 3:7-8

“These are the words of him who is holy and true, who holds the key of David. What he opens no one can shut, and what he shuts no one can open. I know your deeds. See, I have placed before you an open door that no one can shut. I know that you have little strength, yet you have kept my word and have not denied my name.”

Love,

Dimitra

© ALL RIGHTS RESERVED – Any unauthorised broadcasting, public performance, copying or re-recording will constitute an infringement of copyright.

About LovingMinistry

Loving life, Loving people but mostly Loving and Serving Jesus Christ!
This entry was posted in devotional, faith, God's mercy, hope, inspirational, Jesus Christ, Jonah, Jonah's prayer, peace, Personal, trichotillomania, truth, unconditional love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

