Going back…

This morning I had a meeting in Whitehead, a small village along the Irish coast, a place that was my home my first two years in Northern Ireland and until the Lord took me …few miles further in a historical small town.

I love where I was and where I am – location, lifestyle and vocation wise – but the one thing I do miss is my daily walk along the sea shore: the path from Whitehead to Blackhead and its Lighthouse.

The day was bright, blue skies and sunny smiles! When I finished my meeting, I decided to take the opportunity to take a walk, photograph the blue skies and enjoy some fresh cold breeze.

They say that we should not look back or return to the past. However, ancient Greeks said: “everything in moderation”. Yes, I do agree with what Paul said and we quote in the Bible:

Philippians 3v13-14

Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”

We need to leave behind what has happened, stop focusing on the past, not being crippled by it, still, it is beneficial to look back and reflect, re-evaluate.

I had this chance today. The path is changing. Where the main parking area was, they construct the new recreation centre. Yes, everything changes from moment to moment. I am not the same as when I started writing this post…10min ago!

Walking today along the sea shore, observing the changes, I remembered when I first arrived at that place, few years ago. I remembered how I arrived, what I was thinking and how I was feeling. Than observing the changes taking place along the path, I kept observing the changes that occurred in my life (physically, emotionally and spiritually) since I first arrive.

Yes, it was good to go back, to reflect, to remember and to re-evaluate. I felt well, I felt gratitude. I felt thankful as I well know that the best is still ahead. I prayed and I thanked the Lord for all changes and all opportunities.

Yes, it is good to remember sometimes – not completely forget!

Love,

Dimitra

 

© ALL RIGHTS RESERVED – Any unauthorised broadcasting, public performance, copying or re-recording will constitute an infringement of copyright.

About LovingMinistry

Loving life, Loving people but mostly Loving and Serving Jesus Christ!
This entry was posted in devotional, faith, God's mercy, hope, inspirational, Jesus Christ, peace, Personal, trichotillomania, truth, unconditional love and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

