Dedicated to Writers and Readers

Ecclesiastes 3v6

a time to search and a time to give up, a time to keep and a time to throw away,”

Herewith is an article that I wrote recently and published in a writers’ group newsletter and magazine where I usually contribute various articles.

I wish to say that I am grateful and I do highly appreciate all good bloggers, readers and writers who participate in our cosmos and as well take time to read my writings and have the strength to encourage me by providing constructive criticism.

A big thank to all. I started writing because God asked me to and believe me nobody encouraged me to do so…I was mocked and told that “engineers do not become writers”. Only by faith I started putting the first lines down and with a trembling hand I sent my first article out in the public. Today I know two things:

  • Only by God’s grace I have reached where I am and I thank Him;
  • Through your support I keep being motivated to write each day since then, even if I have to wake up during the night to keep a note in my notebook. So, thank you!

Dedicated to writers and readers

“G.Seferis (1900-1971, Nobel Prize in Literature 1963), when he was asked to clarify/justify/explain his writings, he replied that he could not. What he wrote was inspired from his personal awareness. The reader would get his own unique experience and understanding.

The shark swung over and the old man saw his eye was not alive and then he swung over once again, wrapping himself in two loops of the rope. The old man knew that he was dead but the shark would not accept it.”

-Ernest Hemingway

“The Old Man and the Sea”

I read it over and over. I wonder. Was the shark in a state of denial? Was it the shark’s hope for survival? Was it what we so many times have been taught: “Never give up”?

Is it more convenient to persuade ourselves that it is important to hold on it than let it go?

I have no answer. I have no answer for my own self. I have no answer for anyone of you.

Voices whisper into my ears: “don’t give up; never give up”, still, I wonder: where is that thin line between giving up and denial?

Let’s not fool ourselves. The thin line does exist. There are times that we need to never give up, yet, there are moments that we need to stop barging in and just, let it go as this is the only way to healing. Evidently, in the case of the shark…it was matter of life and death…even though “…his eye was not alive…”

The answer might lie whether it is a matter of life or death…maybe…

I still wonder. I do not have the answer. The voices softly whisper into my mind: “don’t worry, you will know when it is time to know!” and my soul agree.

Likewise, when the writer writes, s/he knows. Likewise, when the reader reads, s/he knows. Somewhere, somehow the dots…connect!”

Love,

Dimitra

© ALL RIGHTS RESERVED – Any unauthorised broadcasting, public performance, copying or re-recording will constitute an infringement of copyright.

About LovingMinistry

Loving life, Loving people but mostly Loving and Serving Jesus Christ!
This entry was posted in devotional, faith, God's mercy, hope, inspirational, Jesus Christ, peace, trichotillomania, truth, unconditional love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

