IMITATING JESUS…

When, more than 17yrs ago, I confessed with my mouth the Lord Jesus and I truly believed in my heart that God raised him from the dead, I had no idea where that new journey would take me!

17 years and 6 countries later, I am still amazed with what’s happening in my life on daily base. I even feel guilty that I feel so amazed because I should not be impressed by His power and capability to cover us with great blessings.

During this journey I came to realize that Jesus Christ came in flesh for two reasons:

  • To give His life and His blood as a sacrifice on the cross for us humans in order to be cleansed from sin and to have a way to reconciliation;
  • To give us a model that we can imitate and have a life of quality according to His example.

Paul said and we read in 1Corinthians 11 chapter and 1st verse:

“Imitate me, just as I also [imitate] Jesus.”

And John said and we read in 3John chapter 1 and verse 11:

“Beloved, do not imitate what is evil, but what is good. He who does good is of God, but he who does evil has not seen God.”

Imitating is not something strange in the word of God. How can we imitate Jesus? What do we know about Him?

Holding the Bible is sometimes a statement that we carry the word of God with us; other times is a practical thing when we go to the Church or go to teach or been taught. However, reading the Bible – that is the word of God – is not only to make a statement but mostly to learn out of it.

Plus, it is not only to learn the promises and the instructions, to get knowledge of the history or get encouragement. It is as well to learn who Jesus Christ is and how we can live a life imitating (= copy, reproduce, emulate, duplicate, replicate, mimic, try to be like) the role model He created for us.

It was a moment in my Christian life that I realized that I had to start imitating Jesus. I do not want to imitate Paul or Peter or Mary or Martha and all those wonderful saints. I can learn from their life, I can learn from their strengths and their limitations. The one – who is my Lord – is the one who I need to imitate!

Am I successful? I am not the one to judge this but when I meditate on the word of God, I try to find what it is that I can introduce into my daily life so I emulate the one who gave His life for my sins, the one who is risen!

I cannot copy His sex, I am a female! I cannot copy His cloths (His robe), I live in a different society…almost 2000yrs later! I cannot follow His traditions as I live under the New Testament and not the Old one!

Nevertheless, I can replicate His character and His actions, especially His actions. I will never be Him. He was perfect and sinless. Through Him and through His strength and grace, I can try to be like His character and meditate on how He acted and what were His motivations behind His deeds.

When I comprehended how important the imitation was, my life took a new turn. It was like I was recommitting my life to Him. The first thing I did was to start reading the Gospels and focus on His teachings and on His daily life, His daily decisions, His daily missions and His daily choices.

I forgot any other person of the Bible and my eyes were focused on His life when He was on earth. I became conscious of truly amazing things further more than what I usually have heard from preachers and teachers. Please, don’t misunderstand me: I believe in the Bible as a whole and I do teach that we need to read it as a whole than just verses isolated here and there. I do believe that all persons in the Bible are great examples for our growth and their life provides wisdom in our life. However, I do believe that – not intentionally – during our age, people of God cross the line of peace and move in an area that is not for peace but for provocation. I believe that people of God get busy with business that are not theirs and forget where they truly need to focus. People of God try to prove others wrong in order to prove our faith right. I believe that they mean well but this is not what Jesus did during His ministry.

I desire to share with you those few things that I have learnt and by God’s grace, I will start communicating those to you by next week. In the meantime, if you wish, start reading the Gospel according to Luke and try to see how Jesus was approaching others. Till next week, I wish you peace and love, in Jesus Name, amen!

 

 

© ALL RIGHTS RESERVED – Any unauthorised broadcasting, public performance, copying or re-recording will constitute an infringement of copyright.

About LovingMinistry

Loving life, Loving people but mostly Loving and Serving Jesus Christ!
This entry was posted in devotional, faith, God's mercy, hope, inspirational, Jesus Christ, peace, Personal, trichotillomania, truth, unconditional love and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to IMITATING JESUS…

  1. I just read your post and I agree completely. I know I can never live up to our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ but I can make my humble attempts daily to imitate Him and treat others as He treated them. He did not judge and plainly told us that He did not come to judge. That is my weakness and I pray for strength to overcome. Keep up the wonderful post and may God bless and keep you.

    • You are so honest! thank you for your insight and believe me …the first that comes to mind IS judgment…it is like a natural reaction! I believe that the question is WHAT we do about it when it comes. God bless you and as a professor told me …”keep being honest and you will go long way!” Blessing my friend.

Leave a Reply

