New Wineskins!

Matthew 9v16-17

“No one puts a piece of unshrunk cloth on an old garment; for the patch pulls away from the garment, and the tear is made worse. Nor do they put new wine into old wineskins, or else the wineskins break, the wine is spilled, and the wineskins are ruined. But they put new wine into new wineskins, and both are preserved.”

As I read the above scriptures, my heart speaks about “the past”! Imagine that we project a today’s fact onto the past. Let’s imagine that we “judge” our present based on our past. What could happen when we “mix” our past and our present?

Someone wrote: “don’t let your past destroying your present and your future!” Another saying is: “we go on from where we stand. There is no profit in ifs”. Wise words and I believe that we understand the truth probably through our own experiences in life.

The last sentence “But they put new wine into new wineskins, and both are preserved” inspires and empowers me a lot! I understand that I can’t mix old things and new ones. Looking at my life, I can remember when I was mixing situations and the result was complicated! I had to end with one and start with something new.

When we have a new beginning with Christ – due to our own decision and choice – we carry a new wine and we need to put it in a new wineskin. Obviously this new wineskin is not our body as we can’t change our body; we can’t change what happened and we can’t change our past. What we can do is to create a new “wineskin” through new attitude, new works, new perspectives and new renewal of our minds. We know that we have the Holy Spirit as the no.1 helper and counsellor – none better than Him!

So, take heart and go on from where you stand! Amen!

Love,

Dimitra

 

 

© ALL RIGHTS RESERVED – Any unauthorised broadcasting, public performance, copying or re-recording will constitute an infringement of copyright.

 

About LovingMinistry

Loving life, Loving people but mostly Loving and Serving Jesus Christ!
This entry was posted in devotional, faith, God's mercy, hope, inspirational, peace, trichotillomania, truth, unconditional love. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Wineskins!

  1. Jessica says:

    Just studied this verse in a Woman’ Bible Study at my church. The study is in a book
    that we all read independently and write our
    answers, then discuss. The author of the study described these verses well, which for me helped as I have read them many times and never really understood them. I am an American women living in 2013, I don’t sew or use wine skins, nor understand all the chemical reactions that take place while wine is fermenting (other than knowing grape juice gets better with age as it becomes older and becomes wine). Finally, after 25+ years as a Christian I have been able to grasp (a bit) what Jesus was teaching about the new wine and new cloth compared to old cloth and and old wine skins. I came to the same conclusion that you just wrote about, so your devotion is very confirming to me. Thanks for allowing God to guide your writing! My prayer continues that He will remind and show me how to make the new cloth / new wine choices I need to make. The verse goes on to state that anyone who is used to old wine will typically be satisfied with it (used to its flavor) and won’t really care about drinking the new (improved) wine. My prayer is that God won’t allow me to be satisfied with that old ‘stuff’, that His new way, His new (superb) LIFE will be more appealing to us in every area. So thankful for how God leads and helps us walk a fresh daily walk with Him in the Spirit, despite our tendency to gravitate to the old ways of living, thinking and reacting in the flesh. I’m loving these verses right now! Thanks Dimitra !

    • Dear friend, thank you for taking time not only to read but to write to us your thoughts, understanding and add your input. I pray that His grace keeps you and yours in joy. True we have to put new ways in our life…old habits die last but He is strong to support us. Love and hugs

Leave a Reply

