Humble Stubborn Donkeys!

“Jesus found a young donkey and sat upon it, as it is written, “Do not be afraid, O Daughter of Zion; see, your king is coming, seated on a donkey’s colt.”

-John 12v14-15

I love donkeys! I have met them in a lot of countries around the world. They are of different size and details from place to place but they are always cute! The most amazing element of a donkey is the eyes. I do not understand the reason that some people call others “donkey” in an effort to dismiss them.

I remember years ago when during summer we had our vacation at Patmos – yes, the island where John wrote the Revelation. I was a child at that time and I do remember when early in the morning the milkman was passing by. He had a donkey that carried the two huge galvanised containers  from where milk was pouring in a small plastic pot and given to our landlady.

I liked looking at this donkey. It was so patient and quiet. Donkeys are famous for being so patient. They carry their loads – for big ones it can be a human being or for the smaller sized ones woods, packs of cement and so on – day in and day out without complaining. In addition, donkeys are famous for being stubborn!

At first, it seems that these two qualities come in contradiction.  As a Christian, I see no contradiction! I need to be patient, trust the Lord, carry my cross and wait upon the Lord. When I need to stand for my faith and for what is important in life, I am stubborn. Truly, when I know that I defend what the Lord gave me, I have no problem to be stubborn till death!

Another quality of lovely donkeys is being humble. This is the greatest among all qualities. I believe that’s why a donkey was chosen to carry the Lord in Jerusalem as the Lord did not come to be served. He came to serve! Amen!

Love,

Dimitra

© ALL RIGHTS RESERVED – Any unauthorised broadcasting, public performance, copying or re-recording will constitute an infringement of copyright.

 

About LovingMinistry

Loving life, Loving people but mostly Loving and Serving Jesus Christ!
This entry was posted in devotional, faith, God's mercy, hope, inspirational, Jesus Christ, peace, Personal, trichotillomania, truth, unconditional love and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Humble Stubborn Donkeys!

  1. Great analogy used here in regards to the servant hood of a simple animal (a donkey) and the servant King, Jesus Christ; they both can carry a LOAD! “Cast ALL your cares…” As far as some people I meet at times, they are sometimes similar to a donkey’s rear end! 🙂

    • People are people, as we say and the Lord loves them/us all! Grateful to know that we can leave our clutters and burdens and loads on Him! what a relief! blessings my friend!

Leave a Reply

