The fullness of our heart!

Our Father God, we thank you for who you are. We love you and we trust you. We thank you for all you provide; our food, a roof upon our heads, our clothes, nice people around us and Lord, we pray, forgive  our sins and weaknesses. Check our hearts and remove what is not yours, allow your ways to dwell in our hearts. We pray in the name of Jesus Christ, amen!

During my study earlier this morning, I read the following -written by Mother Teresa:

“The fullness of our heart is expressed in our eyes, in our touch, in what we write, in what we say, in the way we walk, the way we receive, the way we need”

I got hooked from that phrase “the fullness of our heart”…wow! So wonderfully said!

I look at myself and wonder: “what do I have in my heart?” Is it full of what? Is it full of the fruits of the spirit or just full with my needs and wants?

The Lord has told us not to judge others. As we judge, we will be judged. So, really, we need to be careful. However, he asked us to check our hearts. We need to “judge” ourselves and check our ways. What we have in our heart, it will appear and reflect in our words, works, attitudes and behaviours. We can’t hide the truth that is in our heart and we can’t fake it for long.

And I know that I know that there is only one way to have fullness: to keep Jesus Christ in my heart as I know that I was given fullness in Christ.

“See to it that no one takes you captive through hollow and deceptive philosophy, which depends on human tradition and the basic principles of this world rather than on Christ. For in Christ all the fullness of the Deity lives in bodily form, and you have been given fullness in Christ, who is the head over every power and authority.”

-Colossians 2v8-10

Around 18 yrs ago, I spent one whole week in my flat in Athens, cleaning all clutter in order to send a small cargo to Zambia and release the flat. I remember myself sitting on the floor and checking papers and anything you can imagine, throwing bags of clutter…it seemed an endless exercise. I promised to myself that every 6 months, no matter where I live, I would check drawers and cupboards and clean up what was not needed. To my surprise, I have kept that promise.

Our heart, nevertheless, needs cleaning each day. We need to stop for a moment and look in it and ask ourselves whether there is any clutter and allow Christ to take it away from us and put His fullness in our hearts! Amen!

I send you a big hug,

Dimitra

 

© ALL RIGHTS RESERVED – Any unauthorised broadcasting, public performance, copying or re-recording will constitute an infringement of copyright.

About LovingMinistry

Loving life, Loving people but mostly Loving and Serving Jesus Christ!
This entry was posted in devotional, faith, God's mercy, hope, inspirational, Jesus Christ, peace, Personal, trichotillomania, truth, unconditional love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The fullness of our heart!

  1. I’m checking my heart attitude this morning. I needed a good word today. Thanks Dimitra.

Leave a Reply

