The Dream I have not yet dreamt!

 

“Now I remembered that the real world was wide, and that a varied field of hopes and fears, of sensations and excitements, awaited those who had courage to go forth into its expanse, to seek real knowledge of life amidst its perils.”

(Brontë, C. “Jane Eyre”,p.72, Wordworth Edition Limited, 1999)

I absolutely agree with Jane Eyre. It takes courage to risk, to face the fears and to chase the opportunities and come out from our comfort zone.

Once upon a time, I had to face a great change in my life, a change that – at first- challenged me a lot. I was, at the time and for the last seven years, a resident in Zambia and I had made Zambia my true home, my land, my dreamy place. It was a wish coming true in many details and I could not be more than thankful to the Lord for His unfailing love.

And it was then, that the adversity appeared: I had to leave Zambia and go to work in Belize, a country where the second best coral reef of our planet lives – part of the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System – a country with rich cultural background and a branch of the historical land of Maya civilization. I was just there, at the Caribbean! People work all their life and save money to travel, hopefully, to the Caribbean and there, I was to live at the Caribbean coast and be, additionally, well paid!

I thanked the Lord who provided this job for me, at a moment that economy in Zambia was not in a good place. However, deep in my heart, I had great pain. I could not think myself out of Zambia and away of what I had so loved, plus all that I had already created and invested in. I did not question God, I just accepted the verdict. I packed my things, stored the most important treasures of mine, release my beautiful rented home, take my four lovely cats at a friend’s home and off I was to Belize, carrying a suitcase.

During the first four months I felt miserable. Since the beginning, the Lord provided me with a comfortable home, transportation, all necessities including good friends. But I was blind by pain and misery. The glass was half empty for me. Somehow and four months later, I just woke up – in a symbolic way – and looked around me. I was just astonished realizing where I really was! My eyes just opened and my soul found joy and happiness again. I truly enjoyed those years in Belize, especially, as I could just drive up north and cross the borders of   Mexico, enjoying the white sand beaches, the great people, la Routa Maya as well as the blissful Mexican music accompanied by yummy food. Paradise on earth!

And the years passed by. I always return to Zambia as often as possible. In my heart, Zambia is still my home. When I am there, I just forget everything and I have always the feeling that I “belong”, a feeling that I have not felt anywhere else.

During all those past years, the Lord moved me from country to country, from experience to experience and through a dream that I had never dreamt. When I reflect upon the years away from Zambia, I do recognize the privileges I have in life; I do realize the amazing growth I obtained in my spiritual, physical and emotional world!

I come to realize and conclude that the Lord knows how to take us around and how to help us to grow and to be pruned. It might seem strange at moments and we might do not understand what happens and why.

On the way, I learnt to trust Him and remember that:

Romans 8v28

“And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to [His] purpose.”

I am – for one more time – in a new crossroad in my life. In a short time, I will be “dancing in the streets” as I use to say. I will be moving among three continents for a long time to come. At first, I wish to let you know that I will not always have access to internet and in addition, my schedule will be quite busy as plenty things are to be done and mostly, decisions to be taken. I will have my quiet times, as well as, some very busy ones! I am prepared for both!

You might hear from me often or not hear for long periods of time. No worries! I will be fine and on mission…as usual! You see, God’s work has a lot of forms and there are seasons for different activities or shapes of activities. As Christians we are always on mission! We cannot separate personal from professional life, life from vocation…all are mixed up and for a good reason! However, any part of our life exists in balance and in good co-ordination with the other parts of our life, as our God is a God of peace and order, not one of confusion!

So, I ask you kindly, to keep LovingMinistry and I in your prayers and I promise to keep praying for you. Please, do not cease writing your requests to LovingMinistry and keep commenting or send a message at Facebook. I cannot promise that I will write back immediately due to above explained reasons but I will a.s.a.p.

What I have learnt through the previous decades of my life is that there are dreams that we dreamt and fight for, MOREOVER there are dreams which we have/had never dreamt. The Lord dreamt them for us as He knows us well and He has plans for us, good plans!

So, now I look forward to THE DREAM THAT I HAVE NOT YET DREAMT, knowing that I can fully trust the Lord! The adventure commences!

Love,

Dimitra

(Dedicated to someone special who, tomorrow, becomes 8 years old . I wish him a life full of dreams bigger than the ones he will ever dream!)

© ALL RIGHTS RESERVED – Any unauthorised broadcasting, public performance, copying or re-recording will constitute an infringement of copyright.

 

About LovingMinistry

Loving life, Loving people but mostly Loving and Serving Jesus Christ!
This entry was posted in devotional, faith, God's mercy, hope, inspirational, Jesus Christ, peace, Personal, trichotillomania, truth, unconditional love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Dream I have not yet dreamt!

  1. Lovely post. Thank you for the inspiration and reminders of Gods love and sure plans for us. I pray He blesses you abundantly.

Leave a Reply

