EROS RESTORED (c)

“By night on my bed I sought the one I love; I sought him, but I did not find him. “I will rise now,” [I said], “And go about the city; In the streets and in the squares I will seek the one I love.” I sought him, but I did not find him. The watchmen who go about the city found me; [I said], “Have you seen the one I love?””

Song of Songs 3v1-3

The Song of songs or otherwise called the Song of Solomon is a quite controversial book among the books of the Bible. It seems like it does not belong – it seems more an erotic song than one belonging in a book of faith!

As a Christian and a reader, I come across articles and sermons about love and its Greek meanings of Eros, Agape and Philia; a quite common discussion within our circles.

Besides being a passionate Christian and reader, I am a passionate Greek as well – I hope in a creative way! When still at school, we were taught –for years – our ancient language. I hated it but today it is a useful tool into my hands. It is a privilege to be capable to read philosophical, historical and mythological texts in their original language. I am not a scholar but I still love to do research than just accept what I was told.

Eros is known as a young flying child carrying a bow and an arrow, flying around the earth, spotting men and women, young, old, pretty or ugly ones and sending his arrow onto their hearts and so, they fall in love =Eros! It represents the carnal love, the sexuality and according to the Greek mythology, he was the son of beautiful Aphrodite, the goddess of love!

However, Eros was much more than that and he needs to be restored. We read in the Theogony how the world was created according to the Greeks.

“Verily at the first Chaos came to be, but next wide-bosomed Earth, the ever-sure foundations of all the deathless ones who hold the peaks of snowy Olympus, and dim Tartarus in the depth of the wide-pathed Earth, and Eros (Love), fairest among the deathless gods, who unnerves the limbs and overcomes the mind and wise counsels of all gods and all men within them. From Chaos came forth Erebus and black Night; but of Night were born Aether (5) and Day, whom she conceived and bare from union in love with Erebus.”

(Accessed at http://www.sacred-texts.com/cla/hesiod/theogony.htm and translated in English  by Hugh G. Evelyn-White, 1914)

Theogony or Theogonia (the birth of Gods) was written circa 700 B.C. and it is a poem describing the beginning of the universe, the beginning of the Gods and their family’s history! It is a complicated family but still a very fascinated one!

Nevertheless, it seems that Eros first appeared in a different form and shape than the famous flying child. He was at first and mostly, the creative force of this universe – Love = Agape + Love = sexual Love …equals The World! In fact, according to Hesiod, he pre-existed his mother!

His importance and his interventions have not stopped in genealogy and love affairs. He was, in addition, the catalyst in Philosophy!

“According to Plato, the Soul consists of two natures: “to be” and “to become”.Therefore, through its action, [the soul] enquires to receive something specific, believing that she will be satisfied. Yet, when she accomplishes it, she starts desiring something else; she wants to go even further than it. The reason which guides her from one to another, is nothing else that EROS; cause to him [EROS] nothing stops soul’s passion, despite becomes the beginning of new searching.”

(Plato, “Politeia I & II”, Preface byD.Kolokontes, Edition 1992, Publication House Kaktos  – translated by Dimitra Savvidou)

In my own eyes and soul, I confirm that no matter what a philosophy or mythology might present, the bottom line is that Love includes Eros+Philia+Agape and it is Eros who is the creative force of all. It is the passion of life; it is the passion of our sexuality to create another human before we die, the passion of thinking and recreating, creating friendships (philia), creating harmony! I do believe that the Love of God for His creation is a passionate love = it is EROS and so clearly we read it in the Bible and its book “Song of Songs”.

“How fair and how pleasant you are, O love, with your delights! This stature of yours is like a palm tree, And your breasts [like] its clusters. I said, “I will go up to the palm tree, I will take hold of its branches.” Let now your breasts be like clusters of the vine, The fragrance of your breath like apples, And the roof of your mouth like the best wine.”

Song of Songs 7v6-9

© ALL RIGHTS RESERVED – Any unauthorised broadcasting, public performance, copying or re-recording will constitute an infringement of copyright.

About LovingMinistry

Loving life, Loving people but mostly Loving and Serving Jesus Christ!
This entry was posted in devotional, faith, God's mercy, hope, inspirational, Jesus Christ, peace, Personal, trichotillomania, truth, unconditional love and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

