We still have a chance!

20140827_153451We read and study the Bible, again and again same scriptures provides new inspiration and guidance comes to our life through the Holy Spirit. Bible is alive! That’s what happened today studying the following verse:

Hosea 11v7-9

“My people are bent on backsliding from Me,

Though they call to the Most High,

None at all exalt Him.

“How can I give you up, Ephraim?

How can I hand you over, Israel?

How can I make you like Admah?

How can I set you like Zeboiim?

My heart churns within Me;

My sympathy is stirred.

I will not execute the fierceness of My anger;

I will not again destroy Ephraim.

For I am God, and not man,

The Holy One in your midst;

And I will not come with terror.

(Note 1: when I started this meditation and study, I was reading the Greek translation. I noticed two differences appearing between the NKJV and the Greek one:

My sympathy is stirred is translated as My internals (all internal organs – σπλαχνα) became emotional (moved in an emotional way).

I will not again destroy Ephraim is I will not destroy Ephraim. (the word again is not present)

I mention those differences as the Greek expressions are emphatic, showing more extreme emotions.

I always struggle with those various translations of the Bible…huge differences at times…anyway, this is another topic.)

The inspiration and guidance reflected at first to who God is. We forget that God is God and not a man. We fail when we try to compare Him to our human nature, habits, and characteristics. I feel that we are trapped every so often due to the fact that our Lord Jesus Christ came in human form and lived on earth.

The second reflection lays on God’s anger. His people had not follow His commandments, they did acknowledge Him to the level to call upon Him but not really worship Him as their master. They did not exalt Him. It was not a true love but a convenient one!

God was angry. Nevertheless, He did a conscious decision not to execute the fierceness of His anger.

(Note 2: for some relevant impetus I would like to refer you to a previous teaching entitled “His wrath or His mercy”.)

The whole picture amazed me. Recently I witnessed conversations debating whether when we are provoked in ways that might lead to inappropriate actions, we ought to remember that we are Christians and ambassadors of God. The debater supported that we do not need to do so as the Holy Spirit lives inside us. It is normal not to have negative feelings with the effect acting inappropriate. Otherwise the Holy Spirit is not within us.

It is a fact that our body is the temple of the Holy Spirit but if God Himself thinks and decides when and whether He acts upon His fierceness of His anger, how much more we are “allowed” to remember who we are and block our feelings becoming acts.

We still have a chance! Most of the times it is creative – not to mention obligatory –  to take that chance and do our best through Christ. Remember: we might be the only Bible that one reads. The responsibility is great and not to be taken lightly.

Last but not least, I was reminded and stunned at/by God’s love.

My heart churns within Me;

My sympathy is stirred.

…and His love replaced His ferocious anger. What a God!

 

 

 

 

 

© ALL RIGHTS RESERVED – Any unauthorised broadcasting, public performance, copying or re-recording will constitute an infringement of copyright.

 

 

About LovingMinistry

Loving life, Loving people but mostly Loving and Serving Jesus Christ!
This entry was posted in faith, God's mercy, hope, inspirational, peace, trichotillomania, unconditional love and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

