People do what works…

People do what works…A true statement!

Nevertheless, each coin has two sides and what works might have two natures: the beneficial nature and the non-beneficial one.

People do what works. When we observe other people life including ours, we see that there are patterns in our life, patterns that we repeat and we repeat them because they work for us. It does not mean that the patterns are beneficial into our life. Let’s say that I am in an difficult relationship/friendship and I keep going with it. My excuse is that I love that person or that as a Christian, I need to persevere and show my “good” character…for as long as it goes. The result is that I destroy my life plus that I neither help the other person. I do stay in the relationship because it works for me, the rest are just excuses. It works because I get something out of it even if it is self-punishment/self-harm.

That’s how life goes on and we keep doing what it works – goods or bads. A twist in all these is what the scripture says to us:

James 2:18-19

“But someone will say, “You have faith, and I have works.” Show me your faith without your works, and I will show you my faith by my works. You believe that there is one God. You do well. Even the demons believe–and tremble!”

Concerning our faith, we do know that we are saved by grace and not by work. At the same time, we cannot claim that we have faith and not produce works. They go together! When our stony heart is replaced by a fleshy heart where the word of God is written on it, there is no way that our works will not be for benefit. When our body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, there is no way that the Spirit won’t change bit by bit each cell of our soul!

It is a fact that satan and demons do know God – Father, Son and Holy Spirit – they acknowledge Him. So, what’s the difference?

The difference is that satan and demons want to take power from God and become God, when we submit under the power of God and recognize Him as our God, Lord and Saviour. Do the maths! Obviously, our works must be completely different than satan’s!

I consider my works as a guideline not of my salvation but of where I stand in faith, where I stand as a believer, where I stand in front of God. I need to reflect continuously – not with   guilt – on my works and change my ways when I need to through the strength of Jesus. My works can show me where my heart truly is.

I pray that you have a great day, a wonderful week, full of His mercies, grace and favour, in the name of Jesus Christ and for His sake, amen!

Love,

Dimitra

© ALL RIGHTS RESERVED – Any unauthorised broadcasting, public performance, copying or re-recording will constitute an infringement of copyright.


About LovingMinistry

Loving life, Loving people but mostly Loving and Serving Jesus Christ!
This entry was posted in devotional, faith, God's mercy, hope, inspirational, Jesus Christ, peace, trichotillomania, truth, unconditional love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

